Skip to main content
Public University

University of the District of Columbia

The University of the District of Columbia is a public four-year institution located in Washington, D.C., offering diverse degree paths from associate to doctoral levels within five schools and colleges.

—ACCEPTANCE
$14,287AVG NET PRICE
40%GRAD RATE
3,855STUDENTS
University data profileIPEDS 2023
No photo
Washington, DCCity: Large

THE SIGNATURE

University of the District of Columbia Report Card

Explore university facts, programs, and campus life at a glance.

As the only public university in the nation's capital and the only urban land-grant university in the United States, UDC serves as a hub for academic growth and community service. The institution extends beyond its campus footprint, providing students with easy access to world-famous monuments, political intrigue, and cultural attractions that define life in the District.

The university offers a wide variety of learning experiences through more than 80 programs across five schools and colleges. Students can pursue associate, bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degrees while engaging in research personally developed by deans and department chairs to advance their education.

AT A GLANCE
TypePublicFour or more years
Founded—
SettingCity: Large
Calendarsemester
Religious affiliationNone reported
Athletics—

GETTING IN

Admissions

Prospective students can explore various tour options to experience campus life firsthand before applying. The university hosts scheduled group visits and individual tours led by student ambassadors to help families understand what it is like to be a UDC student.

ACCEPTANCE RATE

—

SAT RANGE (MID 50%)

SAT range is not reported.

APPLICATION DEADLINE

Not reported

Undergraduate application fee $50.

WHAT IT COSTS

Cost & Financial Aid

Sticker price tells you little — net price after aid is what most families actually pay.

Source: IPEDS 2023

IN-STATE TUITION & FEES

$6,152/yr

Out-of-state: $13,004/yr. District of Columbia residents pay roughly 53% less.

Net price by income band

$0–$30,000
$30,001–$48,000
$48,001–$75,000
$75,001–$110,000
$110,001+

AVERAGE NET PRICE AFTER AID

$14,287/yr

▲ 16% since 2020-2167% receive aid

Average aid package $7,279.

IN THE CLASSROOM

Academics

UDC offers more than 80 programs across five schools, including the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business and Public Administration, and David A. Clarke School of Law. The institution provides pathways for undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral study while maintaining its role as a land-grant college focused on practical education.

Source: IPEDS 2023

Student–faculty ratio

6:1

6-year graduation rate

40%

▲ 7 pts since 2016

First-year retention

67%

Compared with the 89% public-university median.

Undergrad majors

43

Undergraduate majors and programs

MOST POPULAR FIELDS OF STUDY

Business Administration, Management and Operations, Other.16.9%
Biology/Biological Sciences, General.6%
Mechanical Engineering.5.7%
Human Development and Family Studies, General.5.7%
Computer Science.5.4%
Psychology, General.5.4%

CAMPUS LIFE

Campus & Housing

Campus housing shows how many students live on-campus — which means nearby housing can be essential to the college experience.

No photo

On-campus beds

—

—

Students needing off-campus housing

—

—

Setting

City: Large

IN CONTEXT

University of the District of Columbia vs. peer institutions

How University of the District of Columbia compares with officially identified or editorially reviewed peer institutions.

University of the District of Columbia
$14,287
Alabama A & M University
$14,064
Alcorn State University
$13,155
Delaware State University
$15,555

AFTER GRADUATION

Student outcomes

What graduates earn and how reliably they land work — the bottom-line return on the degree.

Source: College Scorecard 2025

Median earnings · 10 yrs after entry

$44,236

Compared with earnings for graduates of similar universities.

Working after 10 yrs

81.4%

Share of former students working and not enrolled, ten years after entry.

Earning more than a high-school graduate

67.4%

67.4% of students out-earn the typical high-school graduate — a core measure of mobility.

LIVE HERE

Apartments near University of the District of Columbia

No student rentals are currently available near this campus. Explore other housing options.

Loading map...

Closest to campus

Sorted by distance to campus

There are no nearby listings to show yet.

Explore housing options

Found your school?
Now find where you'll live.

University of the District of Columbia students who start their housing search early get first pick of the apartments closest to campus — and the best prices.

0Nearby listings
—Average monthly rent
—Closest walk to campus
Find housing near University of the District of Columbia

Data Sources: U.S. Department of Education IPEDS, National Center for Education Statistics. University Apartments is not affiliated with University of the District of Columbia.