Skip to main content
Public University

Boise State University

Boise State University in Boise, Idaho, is a public four-year institution where bold thinking meets hands-on learning. With over 26,000 students and more than 90 undergraduate majors, the campus offers affordable tuition, small class sizes, and vibrant student life.

84%ACCEPTANCE
$19,037AVG NET PRICE
61%GRAD RATE
26.7KSTUDENTS
University data profileIPEDS 2023
No photo
Boise, IDCity: Midsize

THE SIGNATURE

Boise State University Report Card

Explore university facts, programs, and campus life at a glance.

Boise State University prepares students for success through a transformative educational experience that combines groundbreaking research with hands-on learning. The institution fosters an environment where creative research and real-world partnerships help graduates lead and innovate in Idaho and beyond. Students can find their major within seven academic colleges, the Honors College, and the Graduate College, all supported by a large faculty dedicated to personal and career growth.

The campus is located in the heart of Boise, Idaho's capital city, offering a world-class college experience surrounded by opportunity. Beyond academics, the university features a vibrant student life with over 260 student groups and access to outdoor recreation including skiing, hiking, and river sports. The famous Blue Turf serves as the home for dynamic athletics programs that build community spirit and pride.

AT A GLANCE
TypePublicFour or more years
Founded—
SettingCity: Midsize
Calendarsemester
Religious affiliationNone reported
Athletics—

GETTING IN

Admissions

Boise State University welcomes applicants through an admissions process that reflects its commitment to preparing students for success. The institution reports an acceptance rate of 84 percent, with over 15,000 applicants considered in a recent cycle.

Source: IPEDS 2023

ACCEPTANCE RATE

84%

More selective than 71% of listed universities.

SelectiveAccessible

SAT RANGE (MID 50%)

SAT range is not reported.

APPLICATION DEADLINE

Not reported

Undergraduate application fee $50.

WHAT IT COSTS

Cost & Financial Aid

Sticker price tells you little — net price after aid is what most families actually pay.

Source: IPEDS 2023

IN-STATE TUITION & FEES

$8,782/yr

Out-of-state: $26,976/yr. Idaho residents pay roughly 67% less.

Net price by income band

$0–$30,000
$30,001–$48,000
$48,001–$75,000
$75,001–$110,000
$110,001+

AVERAGE NET PRICE AFTER AID

$19,037/yr

▲ 20% since 2020-2146% receive aid

Average aid package $9,163.

IN THE CLASSROOM

Academics

The university offers a high-quality undergraduate education alongside a supportive graduate school that cultivates personal and career growth for its students. Academic programs span seven academic colleges, the Honors College, and the Graduate College, providing a wide variety of degree paths in both on-campus and online formats.

Source: IPEDS 2023

Student–faculty ratio

19:1

34.5% of classes have fewer than 20 students.

6-year graduation rate

61%

▲ 22 pts since 2016

First-year retention

78%

Compared with the 89% public-university median.

Undergrad majors

93

Undergraduate majors and programs

MOST POPULAR FIELDS OF STUDY

Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse.12%
Business/Commerce, General.6.3%
Psychology, General.4.9%
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist.4.6%
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other.4.1%
Exercise Physiology and Kinesiology.3.6%

CAMPUS LIFE

Campus & Housing

Campus housing shows how many students live on-campus — which means nearby housing can be essential to the college experience.

No photo

On-campus beds

2,906

—

Students needing off-campus housing

—

—

Setting

City: Midsize

IN CONTEXT

Boise State University vs. peer institutions

How Boise State University compares with officially identified or editorially reviewed peer institutions.

Boise State University
$19,037
University of Texas at San Antonio
$10,831
University of Akron Main Campus
$15,292
University of Nevada-Reno
$16,801

AFTER GRADUATION

Student outcomes

What graduates earn and how reliably they land work — the bottom-line return on the degree.

Source: College Scorecard 2025

Median earnings · 10 yrs after entry

$51,658

Compared with earnings for graduates of similar universities.

Working after 10 yrs

88.5%

Share of former students working and not enrolled, ten years after entry.

Earning more than a high-school graduate

77.5%

77.5% of students out-earn the typical high-school graduate — a core measure of mobility.

LIVE HERE

Apartments near Boise State University

No student rentals are currently available near this campus. Explore other housing options.

Loading map...

Closest to campus

Sorted by distance to campus

There are no nearby listings to show yet.

Explore housing options

Found your school?
Now find where you'll live.

Boise State University students who start their housing search early get first pick of the apartments closest to campus — and the best prices.

0Nearby listings
—Average monthly rent
—Closest walk to campus
Find housing near Boise State University

Data Sources: U.S. Department of Education IPEDS, National Center for Education Statistics. University Apartments is not affiliated with Boise State University.